Katharine Miller Returns

Dr. Katharine Miller is a double alumna of the Diederich College of Communication and is joining the faculty this fall as an assistant professor of organizational and corporate communication.

photo credit: Dr. Miller

I grew up in Door County, WI. I am a proud two-time alum of Marquette and the Diederich College. I graduated with my Bachelor of Arts degree in Corporate Communication with minors in Marketing and Writing-Intensive English in 2014, and my Master’s Degree in Communication Studies in 2016. I then went on to complete my PhD in Organizational Communication at Purdue University. I spent a semester studying abroad in Denmark at the Copenhagen Business School where I focused on studying Corporate Social Responsibility. My research focuses largely on the responsible and ethical business practices of organizations.

My family has a long-history of attending Marquette, but I have always been personally drawn to the mission of the university and its community. I found my home in the Diederich College back during my time as an undergraduate because I was drawn to the corporate communication major and the faculty who have since had such an impact on my professional life.

I am so happy to be back in Milwaukee! I love learning how Marquette plays a significant role in the Milwaukee community. My favorite spots include the Third Ward and the lakefront. I grew up on the water, so anytime I can get down to the lake is a great day for me.

One of my favorite Marquette memories was when the MUBB team made it to the Elite 8 in the NCAA tournament. It was such an exciting time on campus. I also always loved being part of the Corporate Communication Summit during the spring in which corporate communication scholars and practitioners came together on campus for presentations, debate, and network opportunities.

This year, I am just so thrilled to be coming back to Marquette as a faculty member after spending six years of my life here as a student. The faculty and staff of the Diederich College helped lead me to where I am today in pursuing a PhD and a life in academia. I look forward to giving back to the student body and community that has given me so much.

Outside of work, I love spending time trying new restaurants and breweries, cheering Marquette basketball on at the Forum, watching live music, or hiking with my fiance and puppy, Gus.

--

--